Because I love to turn mental disorders into prose. Also Games.

Shake your moneymaker

My DS has been through so much abuse lately, it should qualify for a restraining order from me.

You see, around Christmas, I purchased “Rhythm Heaven”. I’d seen videos of it, and was intrigued enough to look into it, but not enough to pay more than 20 bucks for it. Since I couldn’t find a used copy, and a new copy was still $30, I was gameless.

Along comes clearance prices at Target for the end-of-year shopping. The game’s 15 dollars, and THEN it gets a 60% clearance discount. Needless to say, I came home with it.

Holy hell, I’ve either got NO beat, or this game is one sunnovabitchin’ hard game.

Actually, the restraining order should be for the game to stay 100 yards away from me and my DS.

You see, the mechanics couldn’t be simpler. There’s a tap, a flick, and a rub. That’s all you’ll need to do. You WILL need to do it in time with some foot-tappingly catchy music to win microgames that range from adorably cute, and fairly easy if you have a beating heart, to rip-your-hair-out-with-burning-gauntlets hard. On top of that, there are unlockable songs, journals, minigames, and guitar lessons to play with when you finish. And I still haven’t even finished.

You see, when you THINK the game ends, they tack on more stuff!
Finished the fifteen minigames on the menu, huh?
Well you unlocked: *Da-da-DADA!* A SCROLL BUTTON!

Finished the NEXT fifteen games, huh? Okay, here’s your credit roll. AND A SCROLL BUTTON UPGRADE!

Boom! 20 expert remixes of games you already beat. Go on, make my day, punk.

This game is like an abusive relationship. I love it for its quirky, insane, catchy games. It’s like Mozart mixed with Slash and a children’s show, if they all had a Rabbid for a child. It just wants to beat me until I’m hanging by a thread. Then I get back up, and we can do it all over again.

Do I recommend it? Yes, for all DS-owning music lovers. Just don’t expect your touch screen to thank you anytime soon. *PECK! PECK-SCRATCH!*

4 responses

  1. Tim

    Bad music on it though.

    January 10, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    • Not every games needs a multimillion dollar orchestrated soundtrack, Tim. I liked the music enough.

      January 11, 2011 at 10:07 am

      • Tim

        Sir I say sir! Did you just tell me a music game doesn’t need good music?

        Son, I am disapoint.

        January 30, 2011 at 9:16 am

      • No, I more or less said that not every music needs epic production costs. If you didn’t like the music, that’s your problem.

        February 3, 2011 at 5:40 pm

Leave a Reply

