Because I love to turn mental disorders into prose. Also Games.

Guild Wars! (Can I have a MMOment?)

So I peruse my local supermarket, contributing to the downfall of small business and whatnot, when I come across Guild Wars: Trilogy on clearance for 60% off what they normally sell it as. I tried it once before, and while I didn’t hate it, an MMO like Guild Wars had a major selling point to me. It didn’t charge a subscription fee.

I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before, but I rarely find an MMO that I enjoy for very long. EVE held my interest, but not enough that renewing the subscription was at the top of my gaming priority list (It wasn’t the bottom, somewhere mid-high). Guild Wars is free, and if the developers are to be believed, will never cost more than the necessity of the internet.

I have a bit of a hassle involving a trial account, and some forgotten login info, but after a little bit of wrangling with tech support, I’m finally able to load up the game.

Immediately after joining, I find I had a level 7 necromancer, whose name caused me a bit of trouble when logging in. Deciding against jumping into the middle of something I’d forgotten how to play, I decide to make a new character.

SMITING ALL WITH HIS MIGHTY HAMMER OF JUSTICE!

He’s a dashing rogue named “Han Bammer”, and his weapon of choice is the mighty hammer.

Immediately upon joining, I’m accosted by someone with only a rudimentary grasp of English about joining their guild.

Seriously, do it.

We are to have many! People love guild.

I decline. They start me out by telling me go to see a few people about things in that opening-quest way.

My thought process can be pretty well described as “Okay, go here, then go here, then go here. Ohey! Kill those things! Weee! Okay, go here again.”
It’s pretty much any MMO ever.

I don’t believe I’ll be able to wring much humor from this, but if I do, I’ll be sure to let you fine folks know.

And Tim? Gtfo with your turkey bullshit.

2 responses

  1. I can’t help your Turkey Trot love.

    January 4, 2011 at 6:23 am

  2. On another note, the official Turkey Trot Society would like you to remove all posts by the highly talented Timothy, seen as he has been seemingly expelled.

    January 4, 2011 at 8:15 am

Leave a Reply

