Because I love to turn mental disorders into prose. Also Games.

My name is _____ and I have a problem

Yes, I have a problem. I have a problem with games that I’ve been able to shrug off before but now take an interest in their sequels.

So the arrival of Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood has tempted me with something that seems like a bold, bright step in the right direction.

Multiplayer assasinations.

Now, I played part of the first one (I believe halfway through, but before any major plot twists), and while I enjoyed the game, I didn’t enjoy it enough to BUY it. So after my nephew’s friend took his game home, I shrugged it off and went to play something else.

Forgetting the series for a while (Not counting the connotations with massive DRM wars in the second), I went along my merry, oblivious way. Along comes the latest, and I have a sudden urge to play it.

I want to assassinate players in a sneaky and clever fashion. But I have this huge, HUGE mental block that stops me from doing so:

Assassin’s Creed has a story. And stories must be followed in the proper order.

Maybe it’s some kind of OCD buried deep in my psyche, but I have a specific order to the way things must be played, and that is this:

  1. Whereupon the game is released first, it must be played first (Example: Half-Life.)
  2. Whereupon the story takes place first (Discounting prequels), it must be started there. (Example: A lot of games)
  3. Excusable lapses in chronology are when different characters entirely are in a different scenario (Example: Zelda, Grand Theft Auto, Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker), No established story (Team Fortress 2, most sports games),  Nonsensical Story (Katamari Damacy) or Obscure previous titles (I cannot for the life of me find Warcraft or Warcraft II)

Now there are other, smaller rules that I won’t bother mentioning because you don’t want to hear about them.

It pains my soul that I know I won’t be able to play Assassin’s creed Brotherhood without spending eighty bucks beforehand and countless hours of my time on the damned previous entries.

Even before I realized this, before I even truly started my gaming career this was a trend.

Here’s a funny story. My brother got me into semicasual multiplayer PC games like Medal of Honor: Allied Assault. We used to run to a nearby Cybercafe with rows and rows of computers to play against our buddies. Then he got interested in Counter Strike, which he purchased for himself (There’s a humorous anecdote from that visit, but that’s for later). It came with Half-Life.

He wasn’t too interested, but I LOVED the game.

Fast forward six years when my dad upgrades the family computer. I had been dabbling in games for a while, but nothing to really call myself a gamer with. Then I saw a demo for a game called “Half-Life 2”. At the time, I had no recollection of any games that came bundled with Counter-Strike, nor could I remember much of either (1999 meant I was eight for most of the year, and had the attention span of a gnat on cocaine).

So I try to play the demo (And have to consequently download steam for it) and I absolutely love it. It ran like pure, guttered shit on my dad’s PC, but I loved every minute of those five maps I had to play. I wouldn’t actually own the game for several years.

It wasn’t until I received The Orange Box for Christmas of its release year that I make the connection to a game I first played when I was eight.

Of course I’ve known about my little habit for a couple years now, mainly since I’ve become a much more avid player of games. I’ve acknowledged it, and I really don’t think it’s ever been as big of an issue until now.

So that’s my two cents. I’m me, and I have a problem.

One response

  1. To continue my trend of leaving comments that are only about around 4.5 words of your post – AC2 was actually brilliant.
    I will now proceed to ignore the rest of your point.
    Merry day to you.

    November 19, 2010 at 12:09 pm

Leave a Reply

