Because I love to turn mental disorders into prose. Also Games.

Cod: Black Bass

So I found the big secret in Nuketown, and it’s NOT double rainbows. Ya gotta shoot off all the heads of the mannequins to hear it.

Also, I’m going to try and play clean through Zork if I can.

So, the Verdict on Multiplayer is:
I hope you’re not new, because you will have the worst time if you are.

I get the feeling that it was rebuilt to give new players an equal opportunity as Veterans, but you just can’t do that. I mean, come on. If you make a game that gives new players an almost-as-good chance as hardcore players, you’re going to piss off the hardcores. And if you make a simpler system, then the hardcores will always win. So which one did Treyarch take?

They tried to please the hardcore crowd.

Now, I played after the first patch, and that helped a lot for the performance issues, so I’ll half-forgive them for that (It should have been fixed BEFORE launch, though). The strange thing is that before they fixed it, I had a better chance at killing someone because we’re on a lot more level playing field when we both don’t know whether we’ll hit each other. After the fix, my lack of skill became very apparent, and I went from a positive Kill/Death ratio to something like one to three kills a round.

So what does that say? Did Treyarch intend to give laggier players a chance, or was this a very strange coincidence?

Regardless of that, the multiplayer is very unforgiving. The killcam gives players a chance to learn from their mistakes, but when they win maybe one out of five encounters, that’s a terrible curve.

I started using the piggyback method by supporting someone who had a much better score than I, and I ended up getting an average of two assists and one kill per three lives.

At this point, this is becoming less impersonal with every sentence, but considering I’m writing as someone new to CoD multiplayer, I think it holds a valid point to make. Call of Duty is for people who have time to devote to it. You can’t just pop into a game for an hour a night, or else you’ll never develop the necessary skills to overcome your opponents.

So do I like Call of Duty multiplayer? Yes. I think it’s fun when you and six other people are all working together, and that happens a lot when you stick together. but do I think it’s the best multiplayer ever? No. I don’t love it, and it feels like an MMO grind sometimes as I work to unlock better tools at a slow pace while not really enjoying myself.

tl;dr: Stop worrying about unlocks, piggyback with a high-scorer, and you’ll have more fun.

Wow that review flew off on a tangent.

3 responses

  1. Tim

    You need this guy. Beast.

    November 15, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    • I…
      what.
      This guy is awesome.

      November 18, 2010 at 11:15 pm

  2. Farmber

    Enjoyed reading this, will check back soon!

    November 19, 2010 at 2:00 pm

Leave a Reply

