Because I love to turn mental disorders into prose. Also Games.

Oh the glorious, fragile scales of consequence

Games like Iji give me faith in the future of games.

This screen takes on a new meaning after you finish it. When you think about things.

Indie developer Daniel (I think his last name is Remar, though don’t take my word for it) made a simplistic-appearing game a few years back by the name of Iji.

When I played it, I played it like I would any other action platformer. That is to say, I shot up everything, killed everything in sight.

I played like this, a' la Jane actionhero
However, Iji had a way of reprimanding me for my actions. Instead of some arbitrary reduction of stats, or increased challenge, like some games, Iji made it harder to kill enemies because it humanized them, in more ways than one.

It did this alongside a powerfully emotional story detailing a young woman and her coping with being physically altered into a soldier to fight an alien menace, known as the Tasen, that has taken hold of Earth. It quickly paints things a lot greyer than one would expect, and ends up ending it bittersweetly.

I won’t say much about the story, mainly because you have to experience it for yourself. I’ll just say that indie developers often come up with much more touching tales than a large-scale company and Iji delivers.

The reason I’m bringing this up now is because a few months ago, there was a large update to the game, adding a lot more depth to it in several ways.

It managed to squeeze more replayability from this title without using things that seem gimmicky.

Again, I said that it gives me hope for the future of games. Mainly because a title like this inspires. I can’t describe who or what, but it does.

I really only have to say that you should play it as well. I’m not going to tell you how to play, only that you should play however you feel you should, and see what lessons the game has to teach you.

Who says games can’t be touching, educational, and downright fun at the same time?

19 responses

  1. Downloading this now, but I have to say even though it’s unrelated to this article, how, how do you blog so much?
    I can barely manage a post a week!

    September 11, 2010 at 2:57 am

    • I have a lot of downtime at work and school, and I’ve compelled myself to start telling people about stuff when I do things.

      September 12, 2010 at 3:52 pm

      • I wish I could be so dedicated. On the other hand, keeping mine as what it is probably limits me.

        September 13, 2010 at 10:24 am

      • Hey, you can do whatever you want with your blog. If you wanna write comedy on some days, you should just follow your prose-nose. I’ve written drama and horror before (Though I don’t think on here). Just keep ’em coming with a hook and keep ’em guessing with jabs here and there.

        September 13, 2010 at 11:32 am

      • Funny that you say em, which is an anagram for me.
        As in..the only person reading my blog anyway is me.
        Oh I’m wasted here =P

        September 13, 2010 at 1:52 pm

      • Maybeh :3
        Maybe you’ve got one more person reading it :D

        September 13, 2010 at 2:17 pm

      • Oh..oh I feel so loved :D

        September 13, 2010 at 3:00 pm

      • We small bloggers gotta stick together :P

        September 13, 2010 at 3:05 pm

      • We must indeed..we’re certainly hitting your comment count up :D

        September 13, 2010 at 3:06 pm

      • Indeed! We’ll have to hold the next conversation on your blog :P

        September 13, 2010 at 3:10 pm

      • Here lies the incentive for me to write something else..
        Any games need creative fiction written ’bout them? xD

        September 13, 2010 at 3:11 pm

      • We should totally try to write two halves of one post seperately.
        Like I’ll take the comedy mask and you take the tragedy one, and we’ll each write a post about the same game :P

        September 13, 2010 at 3:15 pm

      • That’s quite an idea ain’t it now. And then we both post it.
        Now what game and what angle would we corradberate on. Oh. Oh the awfulness of the order of my letters.

        September 13, 2010 at 3:18 pm

      • It’d have to be a game without much of a particular angle of its own in the way of humor or drama. Probably a simple indie game or freebie.

        September 13, 2010 at 3:26 pm

      • Gah, if I hadn’t already written on it I’d be squealing “Blueberry garden, Blueberry garden” at you. Damn my pre-emptive writings.

        September 13, 2010 at 3:31 pm

      • Haha. Yeah. I totally agree. Minecraft would be perfect for the tragicomedy approach. Lol. You got an MSN or an AIM or something? That’d probably be a ton easier to chat on than WordPress comments XD. PM me with your screenname, if you wanna :P

        September 13, 2010 at 3:40 pm

      • I would PM you, if I but had a way.
        I’ll just put it here: theinterpretationsofmyself@live.co.uk
        Yeah. Themed email!

        September 14, 2010 at 12:19 am

      • Should see mine coming, same name as here.

        September 14, 2010 at 12:45 pm

  2. Lyoko774

    Oh man, I gotta play this again. I got RIGHT to the final boss then my flash drive that it was on kersploded. (well, it went through the wash and something broke.) Amazing game, though.

    September 12, 2010 at 9:49 am

Leave a Reply

