Because I love to turn mental disorders into prose. Also Games.

One fan’s ranting

It’s no secret that I’m a Valve fanboy. I love them, I hate them at the same time. I scrutinize their every move and laud them for every new innovation, but curse their name for every misstep. So I like to put my two bits in from time to time on the forums, too.

But frankly, I think the reason why Valve’s taking so long with the next Half-Life is that they either want to: A) Polish the source engine to a mirror shine, or B) Give it a beautiful swan song.

After Six years, the Source engine can still show off. L4D2, is a great example of good graphics, high optimization, and engine efficiency. But its age shows. Valve is notorious for reusing their resources (You can still find old HL2 newspaper models in L4D2), and I’m sure that’s what will happen for HL2: EP3 and HL3.

Now, I mean that in the most optimistic way possible. I have the feeling that Valve is making all these “Experimental” games as a way to find and implement new technologies into source. I mean, Portal: Gravity bending, object teleporting puzzle-tastic fun. L4D & co: AI director, dismemberment engine, massive AI rendering and efficiency, Improved melee combat. ( I REALLY hope they keep that crowbar).

So if valve’s implementing all these things in the next Half-Life, that explains why its taking so long, right?

Wrong. Valve is just diabolical mastermind trolls.

No, I actually think Valve knows every bit of hype about the next entry, Who’s dead, who lives, what’s Gman doing, etc etc. And they want something that actually delivers on it. Gabe Newell may be sitting behind his desk, eating yet another fan-made cake while he checks up on the progress of Portal 2 and probably Left4Dead 3 (And the Passing DLC), but he knows that his team’s got something cooking up for EP3 and HL3. Something that’s going to make the fanboys shit their pants, and something that hopefully isn’t going to be to the series what the episodic was to the main course. Frankly, I think they need more weapons. Look at the mods for the game. There are n^n possibilities, from flamethrowers to black hole guns, to v6-powered can-launching miniguns (That last one is currently one of my top 10 favorite mod-weapons in Gmod).

On top of weapons, we know that they’re probably going to end up in the arctic, which I like the idea of, but considering games I’ve seen in arctic environments, it’ll be hard to pull off that feeling of “Somebody used to live here” that valve does rather well. Sure, you can throw some props around in a small shack, but Valve has standards, and things like that need to tell a story.
So, in closing, all I really have to say to sum up my feelings is:

DAMMIT VALVE, GET OFF YOUR ASSES AND GET THE NEXT DAMN EPISODE OUT! IF IT AIN’T OUT IN 2010, IT BETTER DAMN WELL BE THE EPIC GOTY FOR 2011!

*ahem*

Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

