Because I love to turn mental disorders into prose. Also Games.

You got your chocolate in my peanut butter! You got your fist in my chest!

Okay, here’s a scene from my latest videogame.

A young girl in a red dress on a busy street corner, holding a broom and nervously shuffling away from a very evil looking man in a black and spiky suit. All of a sudden, a man appears next to the girl, having jumped in from some distance away! He puts his hands together and shouts as the girl raises her broom. Both of them attack the man in black and he is sent flying!

You may be wondering: Is this from a cheesy superhero story?

Yes and no.

That’s my bait-and-switch tactic in Tatsunoko Vs Capcom.

The newest game in Capcom’s ever increasing library of paranoia-induced fantasies of other companies taking over!

So yeah, a fighting game with about a third of its characters familiar to me. I know the Street Fighters, Ryu, Chun-Li, Alex; There’s also a few from Megaman and other favorites.
On the Tatsunoko side, I can only name Casshan, and that’s just because I saw an episode.

But, this game is a competent fighter, and once you get the hang of the controls, their combos are pieces of cake to pull off.Unless you’re being attacked. WHICH YOU ARE. I had about a fifty-fifty chance of pulling off a strong attack (Once that oh-so-fun power bar on the bottom fills up, which takes a bit if you can’t dodge), and when I did, it had the same odds of landing.

Now, the computer’s not a cheating bastard. Until you get to the last boss, of course. But that’s just fighting games in general. Getting your powerbar robbed and then swing-dancing with a giant ball with sawblades hanging out? That’s par for the course. (Some of you think I’m joking. )

Sheesh, the final boss wasn’t NEARLY that hard in the game HE’S from. (It’s Yami, from Okami…Salami)

At the time of writing, I haven’t gotten the unlocked characters (I hear there’s a certain photographer who’s covered wars in there…), but I enjoy the game enough that I’m going to keep playing and it even makes me hearken back to the days of yore when old anime was on late at night. (Gigantooooor…who’s unfortunately not here, I don’t believe he’s affiliated with Tatsunoko)

But anyways, I give it 8 disgruntled, mismatched fighters

Out of 10.

Leave a Reply

